Tags

, , , , , ,

Curiousity will not kill this cat

I’m not what you would call an avid wildlife photographer; although, I have spent many pleasant hours while on safaris watching animals in their element. I prefer to view them with my two feet on the ground with a camera in hand and not cooped up in a vehicle. However, there was this one time I saw the wisdom of being on four wheels and in a solid metal body when uncomfortably close to wild animals.

I was staying a few days in a private cottage in Tsavo West National Park in Kenya. It was ideally situated on the side of a hill overlooking a wildlife drinking hole. On this morning, a herd of buffalo were also being watched by several lions in excellent viewing position around my cabin. These were relations of the famous “man eaters of Tsavo” and full of interest in feeding that early morning. I decided it was best to retreat from the terrace into the front room. No sooner done, then this visitor showed up. He seemed more curious than threatening, but I saw that we were standing only 10 feet from each other with only a glass window separating us.

I managed to snap this blurry photo before the cat did a double take and disappeared around the corner; presumably, his curiosity satisfied.

